Genealogy & Local History Websites

Citing Government Documents – NARA http://www.archives.gov/publications/general-info-leaflets/17-citing-records.html
 101 Best Websites for Genealogy – Family Tree Magazine (2017): http://www.familytreemagazine.com/article/101-best-websites-2017
Organizations
National Archives (US) – Genealogy Page www.archives.gov/research_room/genealogy/
National Archives – NARA (US) – Main Page www.archives.gov/
Canadian National Archives – Genealogy Page www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/genealogy/022-300-e.html
Library and Archives Canada Blog (opening access to Canadian Genealogy & Local History Resources) http://thediscoverblog.com/
National Archives – UK www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
Freedmen’s Bureau www.freedmensbureau.com/
Allen County Public Library – Genealogy Division – Ft. Wayne IN http://www.genealogycenter.org/Home.aspx
Ohio Historical Society www.ohiohistory.org
Ohio Genealogical Society www.ogs.org
Daughters of the American Revolution www.dar.org/natsociety/default.html
National Genealogical Society www.ngsgenealogy.org
New England History and Genealogical Society www.nehgs.org
Library of Congress www.loc.gov
US Daughters of 1812 http://www.usdaughters1812.org/
Friends in British India Society (transcriptions of passenger records, census records, etc) http://www.fibis.org/
Historical Preservation Directory http://www.preservationdirectory.com/HistoricalPreservation/Home.aspx
Board Certified Genealogists http://www.bcgcertification.org/index.html
Newsletters
Ancestry – magazine articles www.ancestry.com or www.familyhistory.com
Ancestry Magazine – all 16 years full text  on GoogleBooks http://books.google.com/books/serial/FTgEAAAAMBAJ?rview=1&lr=&sa=N&start=0
Family Tree Magazine www.familytreemagazine.com
Past Pursuits -Akron Summit County (OH) Special Collections & Genealogy Newsletter http://www.akronlibrary.org/internetresources/sc/pursuits/index.html
Genealogy Databases
Cyndi’s List (an index of Genealogy and Local History Resources http://www.cyndislist.com
NARA – Access to Archival Databases www.archives.gov/aad
History of the Census http://www.census.gov/history/
US Census Records and Research Information- NARA http://www.archives.gov/research/census/
links to 1861,1871, 1881 & 1891 UK census  indices (actual census records avail by subscription thru Ancestry.com) www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/census
Irish Genealogy Toolkit http://www.irish-genealogy-toolkit.com/
Family Search – LDS site (International Genealogical Index) www.familysearch.org
Genealogy.com – ProQuest / HeritageQuest’s databases for home use www.genealogy.com
Fold 3 (formerly Footnote) – history and military records http://www.fold3.com/
Ohio Memory Project www.ohiomemory.org
Cleveland Public Library & Cuyahoga County Genealogy http://cpl.org/Research/PopularTopics/Genealogy.aspx
Veterans’ Administration Cemeteries gravelocator.cem.va.gov/j2ee/servlet/NGL_v1
Roots Web http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/
Genealogical.com www.genealogical.com
Ellis Island Records (requires free registration) www.ellisislandrecords.org/default.asp
Castle Garden (first official immigration port of entry NYC 1830-1892) http://www.castlegarden.org/
Morse Index to Census, naturalization records, ethnic records, and more stevemorse.org
Links to Immigration Records – from Family Tree Magazine http://www.familytreemagazine.com/article/Immigration
Naturalization Records http://www.naturalizationrecords.com/
US Customs & Immigration – history http://www.uscis.gov/historyandgenealogy
Olive Tree Genealogy http://www.olivetreegenealogy.com/index.shtml
The Ships List – info about immigrant ships and the shipping lines www.theshipslist.com
World Gen Web – the parent organization for the US Gen Web project http://www.worldgenweb.org/
Political Graveyard http://politicalgraveyard.com/index.html
Aladdin Homes (kit homes) https://www.cmich.edu/library/clarke/ResearchResources/Michigan_Material_Local/Bay_City_Aladdin_Co/Pages/default.aspx
Clarke Historical Library – Central Michigan University http://clarke.cmich.edu/
Annals of Cleveland: A Depression-Era Project of the WPA (index to early Cleveland newspapers 1818 through 1876) http://www.clevelandmemory.org/wpa/
1980 Mariel boatlift database http://www.miamiherald.com/cgi-bin/mariel/index
Death records & Social Security Indexes: online
University of Kentucky – Vital Records for Kentucky http://ukcc.uky.edu/~vitalrec/
Ohio – Death Records Index http://apps.ohiohistory.org/death/
Ohio Death Records – through Family Search http://www.familysearch.org
Cincinnati Birth and Death records 1865-1912 http://digitalprojects.libraries.uc.edu/Births_and_Deaths/
Hamilton County, OH Probate Records 1791-late 20th century – includes birth, death, marriage, estate, naturalization and other records  (See ARCHIVE SEARCH for older records) http://www.probatect.org/case_search/index.htm
West Virginia Vital Records onlineand New article on the Vital Research Records Project (pdf) http://www.wvculture.org/vrr/va_select.aspx
Ancestry’s Social Security Death Benefits Index http://www.ancestry.com/ssdi/advanced.htm
Social Security Administration (sealed for 100 years) http://www.ssa.gov
Social Security Administration – history of agency and act http://www.socialsecurity.gov/history/
Sandusky County Ohio obituaries – sponsored by the Hayes Center (Fremont, Ohio) http://index.rbhayes.org
Cleveland (Newspaper pre-1975 obits) Necrology File – under Do Research, then Cleveland Necrology http://www.cpl.org
Commonwealth War Graves Commission (British) http://www.cwgc.org
Rhode Island Historical Cemetery Transcription Project http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~rigenweb/cemetery/
Ohio Searchable Death Indexes and Records http://www.deathindexes.com
DNA Projects and Services
Family Tree DNA Learning Center https://www.familytreedna.com/learn/
 Ancestry DNA (requires a separate subscription) https://www.ancestry.com/dna/
The GenoGraphic Project at National Geographic: The Human Story https://genographic.nationalgeographic.com/
23 and Me :DNA and your family https://www.23andme.com/
JewishGen DNA Central http://www.jewishgen.org/dna/
Stephen P. Morse, “From DNA to Genetic Genealogy: Everything you wanted to know but were afraid to ask.” http://www.stevemorse.org/genetealogy/dna.htm
Land Records and Maps
The Official Federal Land Patent Records Site http://www.glorecords.blm.gov
Using Maps & Gazetteers in your Research http://learn.ancestry.com/LearnMore/Article.aspx?id=754
Using Maps in Genealogy http://erg.usgs.gov/isb/pubs/factsheets/fs09902.html
US Census Bureau – Map resources http://www.census.gov/geo/www/maps/
Historic USGS Maps (not all states) http://historical.mytopo.com/
Schuessler, Jennifer. “Trove of Information from the 1930s, Animated by the Internet.” New York Times (Dec 25, 2013) http://www.nytimes.com/2013/12/26/arts/lab-in-richmond-animates-comprehensive-1932-us-atlas.html?smid=pl-share
Paullin, Charles O. Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States. 1932 http://dsl.richmond.edu/historicalatlas/
Schulten, Susan. Mapping the Nation: History and Cartography in 19th-Century America. University Of Chicago Press, 2013) and associated website http://www.mappingthenation.com/
Historic USGS Maps of New England and NY docs.unh.edu/nhtopos/nhtopos.htm
Online Ordinance Survey Maps of England, Scotland and Wales 1846-1899 www.old-maps.co.uk/
UK and Ireland Genealogy – place names http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/Gazetteer/
US Coastal Survey – Civil War Maps http://www.nauticalcharts.noaa.gov/history/CivilWar/
Transportation History Sources including maps (use 300dpi option) www.railsandtrails.com
Illinois Federal Township plats (3478 total) http://landplats.ilsos.net/ 
David Rumsey Map Collection www.davidrumsey.com/
Visual Collections – digital image collections (art & artifacts) www.davidrumsey.com/collections/
History of National Park Service http://www.nps.gov/history/history/hisnps/NPSHistory.htm
Virtual maps of NYC www.skyscraper.org/home.htm
Virtual St Louis Project http://www.umsl.edu/technology/videosupport/VRtour/
Military Records and Information
Official records of the Union and Confederate armies cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/browse.monographs/waro.html
NYT Civil War Timeline – An unfolding history of the major events of the Civil War, starting with the election of Abraham Lincoln (commemorating the 150th anniversary of the Civil War)  http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2010/10/29/opinion/20101029-civil-war.html
Genealogy and the American Civil War – Research Guide www.illinoiscivilwar.org/cwgeneal.html
Military Web Sites – from Family Tree Magazine www.familytreemagazine.com/article/Military-Web-Sites
Soldier Quest -information and resources on the military in America http://www.soldierquest.org/
NY Military Museum and Veterans Research Center http://www.dmna.state.ny.us/historic/mil-hist.htm
Civil War Soldiers & Sailors Military Information http://www.nps.gov/civilwar/soldiers-and-sailors-database.htm
Military Service War 1812-WWI Cards Database – Missouri only www.sos.mo.gov/ww1/Default.asp
American Civil War sunsite.utk.edu/civil-war/
Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties digital.library.okstate.edu/kappler
The Wall (Vietnam War Veterans Memorial) (website down 6/21/2008) http://www.thewall-usa.com/
American Battle Monuments Commission (WWI to Vietnam) www.abmc.gov/
The Civil War – Sons of the South – images from Harper’s Weekly 1861-1865 and other info about the Civil War. http://www.sonofthesouth.net/
Revolutionary War – Southern Campaign http://lib.jrshelby.com/
The “Sojer boys” of Portage County – Civil War in Portage County, Ohio http://civilwarportage.org/
American History Sources
Avalon Project (Yale) – Documents in Law History & Diplomacy http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp
Oklahoma Historical Society – see especially the territorial and Indian records. http://www.okhistory.org/research/index
Our Documents (100 documents in American history) www.ourdocuments.gov
George Washington Writings & Manuscripts etext.virginia.edu/washington/fitzpatrick
A Multitude of Amendments, Alterations and Additions. The Writing and Publicizing of the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, and the Constitution of the United States – from the National Park Service www.cr.nps.gov/history/online_books/dube/inde1.htm
Lewis & Clark Expedition – from National Geographic www.nationalgeographic.com/lewisandclark
Founders Online (US Founding Fathers) at NARA -includes papers of the founding fathers http://founders.archives.gov/
The Crisis of the Union – Electronic Archives of Documents of the Civil War – U of Pennsylvania dewey.library.upenn.edu/sceti/abolitionism
African American History in the National Parks www.cr.nps.gov/aahistory
Detroit Publishing Company Pictures of America early 20th Century www.hfmgv.org/exhibits/dpc/default.asp
Mayflower History www.mayflowerhistory.com/index.php
On this day – NY Times Learning Center www.nytimes.com/learning/general/onthisday/
Utah digital newspapers www.lib.utah.edu/digital/unews
Early Americas Digital Archives (Historical and Literary Documents 1492-1820) http://www.mith2.umd.edu/eada/
Digital History http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/
Smithsonian Webcast / Seminar: Quantum Leap: Does “Indian Blood” Still Matter (214 minutes or 3.5 hours)  http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/17314991
Old San Francisco in Photographs http://www.oldsf.org
Other history projects 
Minneapolis City Directories 1859-1917 http://box2.nmtvault.com/Hennepin2/
Portal to Texas History http://texashistory.unt.edu/
Museum of the City of New York and South Street Seaport Museum Archival Collections http://mcnycatablog.org/
Documenting Our Democracy – National Archives of Australia  http://www.foundingdocs.gov.au/
Encyclopaedia Virginia http://www.encyclopediavirginia.org/
Jewish Life in the American West – Museum Exhibit http://www.autrynationalcenter.org/jewish_life/
New France / New Horizons: On French Soil in America (400 years of the French in North America) http://www.archivescanadafrance.org/english/accueil_en.html
UK National Archives www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
Ancestors – (UK Genealogy Magazine)  http://www.ancestorsmagazine.co.uk/
Scottish Post Office Directories (online) similar to City Directories in the US http://digital.nls.uk/directories/index.html
Connected Histories (British) http://www.connectedhistories.org/Default.aspx
Virtual Museum of Canada www.virtualmuseum.ca/English/index_flash.html
NYPL Online Exhibits of American History & other topics www.nypl.org/research/calendar/oelist.cfm
The Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796–1850 (catalog of broadsides, pamphlets & books reflecting the history of printing in Ohio) http://www.morganohiolibrary.com/
Great Chicago Fire of 1871 http://www.chicagohs.org/fire/intro/
Encyclopedia of Chicago http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org/
West Virginia History & Archives http://www.wvculture.org/history/archivesindex.aspx
Vancouver Island http://vihistory.ca/index.php
Maine Online Encyclopedia http://maineanencyclopedia.com/
Old Connecticut Path (NEHGS) https://sites.google.com/site/oldconnecticutpath/